Chicken Soup…

I LOVE chicken soup! When I was little, I used to beg my mom to make it for dinner when she made a roast chicken (which was quite often!) Eating it now always reminds me of being home with my family. Plus Dan and Lillee love it too so I get to make it as often as I want! We usually have it every few weeks, but it varies each time depending what ingreadients we have. There are no exact measures for this as I never use them. Just use what you have/what will fit in the pot! I make a big pot which makes around 6 servings each time.

I use:

•red split lentils
•chicken carcass and some leftover meat
•2 chicken stock cubes
•potatoes
•carrots
•onion
•mixed veggies(usually a combination of…courgette, mushrooms, leeks, celery, sweet potato, squash, cauliflower, broccoli, asparagus, beans, lettuce, cabbage, garlic, aubergine…basically whatever I have that needs using! I personally don’t use peppers or tomatoes as I don’t think they work, but it’s up to you!)
•plenty of water!

To make it, I put the chicken in a large pot, cover with cold water and slowly bring to a boil. Leave it to boil for at least 5 minutes but you can leave it as long as you want.

Then remove ALL of the chicken, especially the skin and bones. Pass it through a sieve if your unsure, it isn’t nice to find a piece of bone plus it could break your blender!

Add the roughly chopped vegetables to the chicken-y liquid along with the stock cubes and any extra water if needed. Bring back to the boil before turning the heat down to simmer until the vegetables are tender.

When it’s cool enough to handle, strip the chicken meat from the bones and add to the soup. When cooked, blend untill smooth and serve with plenty of pepper!

If you want to, you can leave out the chicken and use vegetable stock cubes instead for a vegetarian version.

Or chop everything finely and don’t blend!

Hope you enjoy it!

Emma-Jayne xx

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

